Striders Awards Evening 2018

Saturday 6th January 2018 at the Lymm Hotel

Awards winners 2018

On 6th January 2018, the club came together to celebrate another fantastic year of running and mark achievements throughout 2017. The 2018 Striders Awards Dinner Dance was held once again at the Lymm Hotel.

Club President Andy Garnett gave a speech on the subject of change - noting that the club has an almost all-new commitee since last year. As we move forward into the new year, the club intends to embrace change. The rise of Parkrun has resulted in a record number of people taking up running; to mark this, we're aiming to find ways to reward those who are just starting out with running.

The standards and awards for 2017 were then presented. Award winners for 2017 were:

Road - Senior Ladies
 Ellen Broad
Road - Veteran Ladies
 Elly Roberts
Road - Senior Men
 Stuart Johnson
Road - Veteran Men
 Andy Garnett
Cross country - Senior Ladies  Liz Whitfield
Cross country - Veteran Ladies Karon Forster & Jane Lee
Cross country - Senior Men Huw Kinsman
Cross country - Veteran Men Andy Gaskell
Fell - Senior Ladies
 Liz Whitfield
Fell - Veteran Ladies  Karon Forster
Fell - Senior Men
 Neil Adair
Fell - Veteran Men
 Kenny Forster & Richard Macilwaine
Champion of Champions - Ladies
 Liz Whitfield
Champion of Champions - Men
 Andy Gaskell
The 'I've Been Rogered' Endurance Award  Dan Chadwick
 Spectrum Striders Special Award Janet Redpath
Janet was presented with a special award to honour her committment to the club over the years. Janet oversees the road championships, and for the last few years has also been Race Director at the Birchwood 10k.
Lifetime Achievement Award
 Alan Peers
Alan was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award to mark his dedication to running and his significant achievements over the years.


A huge thanks and congratulations also go to Carolyn Arber, Jenny McIntyre and Catherine Lyon for organising a very enjoyable and successful evening.


Photo courtesy of club member (and award winner!) Brian Tuohey.

Special Award

Awarded to Club members who have made an outstanding contribution to the Club during the year or over a period of years.
2018 - Janet Redpath
2015 - Julian Spencer
2014 - Janet & David Redpath
2013 - Linda & John Owen
2012 - Andrea Millington
2011 - Les Hewitt